goodbye

goodbye

I think of you

I remember love

It burned inside my heart

And rushed along my skin

I held it there

the dream

of you

 

it was

oh love was fire

I was alive

2008


goodbye (Variation)

when I /

spoke

 

finally /

                    my voice stunned

before the end of this day

 

grey /

winds

 

struck ice /

                    we shivered

this estrangement

 

how /

could you

 

shrunken /

                 bone cold

know yourself

 

or my /

fury

 

for what I called it /

                 love

what we called it

 

when /

we spoke

 

intimately /

                 my jaw shook

with the effort

 

stone /

barriers

 

caught my throat /

                 we had

no language for that

 

how /

could it

 

happen /

                 that terror

 

could/

            rock our flesh

 

like this

 

crawling /

                 stunned goodbye

from our lips?

 1991

______________________

neither of these poems were about me . until now. when they are. unimaginable twist of fate. and what is lost is me. have to relearn to type again. hands not working now. stylus hard on a laptop. haven’t figured it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

